Don’t get Discouraged

 

We are officially past the first month of the year. There is a multitude of folks who have started the New Years resolutions of getting back in shape for 2020. 

January being the beginning of the year makes sense for a lot of folks. This being a fresh start or a do-over from last year. However it is the heart of winter here in the US. With that being said I am sure there has been many folks who have already experienced weather related issues that didn’t allow them to make it to the gym on their scheduled day. The more this happens the easier it will get to skip tonight’s session as well. 

Then there is the age old problem of the first week or two of stepping on the scale, you are seeing immediate results of a few pounds lost here and there. Eventually you are going to become sore if you haven’t already. Secondary to that you are going to stop seeing as significant results from the scale. 

My good Friend Clay who runs a Health Blog I have linked to in the past has told me. Throw the scales away. He is right. You may stop seeing (scale) results after you have been working out two or three weeks. Don’t let this fool you. I have found the best way to not get discouraged is by checking my clothes. My pants are looser now than when I started. Don’t panic if you are not feeling looseness in your pants or clothes. 

One thing a lot folks don’t think about is the clothing as we layer up with this time of year. I wear thermals from September to March. This always makes my pants feel tighter than they should, since it is an extra layer of clothing. 

So if you start feeling discouraged because of weather related or soreness or the age old excuse of the scale is not showing any more results. Don’t quite now. You have already made a promise to yourself to be in better shape in 2019 or you wouldn’t have made it this far anyhow.  

 

One thing I absolutely look forward to after my work out is my post work out protein drink. Yes it’s chocolate. I know I am a dork right, well it’s the only chocolate I have had since I started my regular work outs. 

Everyday I have felt like no, I won’t go to the gym, I am perfectly comfortable here in the couch. I have been going anyway, weather permitting. (I didn’t drive to the gym in the ice, I did do what I can at my house though). If there is a will there is a way. Treat yourself to you favorite chocolate post work out shake or whatever flavor you want. 

I can promise you this. Every time I have gone to the gym since I started this, even on the days I thought this is going to suck, I am not feeling it. Bam, I feel better when I am done. 

Another thing to get your mind right, is Remember why you started to begin with. For me, I can look up on my wall. We have pics from hiking trips, deer hunts etc. I got my rear handed to me this past year hunting public land. Hiking two miles back off the public parking areas, carrying my stand etc. I want to be a better hunter, hiker, & husband,  and have a happier healthier life. 

This is just another way for me to stay motivated. I hope you can find the motivation you need. Treat yourself to what you deserve, a healthier you. 

Leave a comment